« PreviousContinue »
The approved project of improvement has been the removal of rocks, snags, overhanging trees, etc., and the cutting of narrow sluices through the rapids and shoals. The principal interests to be served are those of lumbering and rafting, buat much country produce is also carrried down stream in small boats, which return with merchandise, etc.
The first appropriation was in June, 1878. The total amount expended to June 30, 1891, has been $21,245.69, with great advantage. A little work was done in October, 1890, in the removal of snags, stumps and logs, and large rocks from the channel, and cutting leaning trees from the banks.
This was resumed in May, 1891, and is now in progress. The work was between the foot of Queen Shoal and Jarretts Ford, which are, respectively, 25 and 12 miles from the mouth of the river.
The law of September 19, 1890, called for an examination of the river with a view to improving the same by locks and dams. A report on the subject was submitted by the local engineer December 13, 1890, which may be found in Appendix II 6.
July 1, 1890, balance unexpended..........
Amount appropriated by act approved September 19, 1890
Amount that can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30, 1893 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and harbor acts of 1866 and 1867.
(See Appendix II 3.)
4. Gauley River, West Virginia.-Operations for the improvement of the Gauley River were instituted by an examination made in 1887 in accordance with the provisions of the river and harbor act of August 5, 1886. It was then pointed out that a valuable improvement of the 12 miles of river from the mouth to the "Roughs" could be made at an expense of $10,000, and that a great advantage would follow the expenditure of $65,000 in the 26-mile reach called the "Roughs," in facilitating and cheapening the bringing to market of millions of feet of lumber of the most valuable and varied kinds.
The river and harbor act of August 11, 1888, appropriated $3,000. The project approved for the expenditure of this small sum contemplated the removal of ledges of solid rock and the making of channels through 18 shoals of loose rock and bowlders, commencing at Scramble Creek, about three-fourths of a mile above the mouth, and extending to the pool above Rich Creek, a distance of 10 miles. The work was carried on by the hire of labor and the purchase of materials in open market, the circumstances not permitting contract work from considerations of economy and advantage; it was brought to a close about the middle of October, 1888, by high water, and could not be resumed in the year ending June 30, 1890.
A little work was done in July and August, 1890, but was suspended the end of August for want of funds. A new appropriation of $3,000 was made September 19, 1890, but it was then too late to resume operations in 1890.
Continued high water has prevented work in 1891 up to June 30, except a very little in June.
July 1, 1890, balance unexpended
Amount appropriated by act approved September 19, 1890.
June 30, 1891, amount expended during fiscal year
July 1, 1891, balance unexpended..
July 1, 1891, outstanding liabilities.
July 1, 1891, balance available...
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project
(See Appendix I I 4.)
5. New River, from the mouth of Wilson, in Grayson County, Virginia, to the mouth of Greenbrier River, West Virginia.-The appropriations have been made in such manner as to divide this portion of the river into three sections as follows:
Upper, or Lead Mines..
Middle, or New River Bridge..
Throughout this distance the navigable channel consisted of natural chutes through the ledges and shoals of varying widths, rarely over 1 foot in depth, in some places so tortuous as to render navigation extremely dangerous and difficult.
The original project adopted for the improvement of these natural channels was to widen them to 30 or 50 feet, as might be required, deepen them to 2 feet, and straighten such as needed it. This was for bateau navigation; the improvement, however, to be made in such a manner as to aid the work should a greater depth and width be required in the future.
A small steamboat, draft 12 inches when light, having been built at Hinton in the fall of 1878, rendered it necessary to make the channel in that section 50 feet wide at all points, and in many from 75 feet to 100 feet, the depth of 2 feet being retained. This steamboat was not adapted in dimensions and power to the navigation of the river and was withdrawn.
The original plan of improvement has been adhered to, except that the width of channel on the middle and upper divisions has been reduced to 20 feet, and on the former to 10 feet for several miles, to allow iron to be shipped from the furnaces above.
There was no appropriation for this river in 1883, 1884, or 1885. July 1, 1886, there was a balance remaining unexpended of $3,000 from the appropriation of August 2, 1882. This pertained by special designation of the law to the portion of the river above Foster Falls, which are not passable. The balance remained unexpended because of the impassability of these falls. As the disconnection with routes of transportation caused by these falls would practically disappear on the completion of the railroad up Cripple Creek, and as boats could then ship to the railroad their freight at Porter Ferry, above the lead mines and falls, it was concluded to improve the condition of Williamson Ledges and Shoals. This work was continued as late as the season allowed, a small balance of funds being left unexpended, but not large enough to justify the resumption of operations in the summer of 1886. There was an appropriation of $10,000 in the law of August 5, 1886, applicable only to the portion of the river above the Lead mines. When the money became available it was too late to commence operations in
1886. For more than one reason it seemed inexpedient to expend this appropriation in the year ending June 30, 1888. The portion of the river to which it is applicable is above Foster Falls, and these can only be passed by one or two locks. There was also strong reasons for doubt whether, considering the present development of that section of the country, the construction of such locks would be justifiable, even if the money were available. The construction of railroads near this stream had diminished very much the importance of the improvement of the portion above Foster Falls. After a careful reëxamination of the subject and a reconnaissance of the river and its vicinity, it was decided to postpone the expenditure of the appropriation until the will of Congress could be further ascertained.
In the river and harbor act of August 11, 1888, it was, however, directed that the balance should be spent in improving the river between Ivanhoe Furnace, in Wythe County, and the mouth of Wilson Creek. Operations in accordance with this direction were therefore commenced June 9, 1889, and continued until October 10, 1889.
In 1885 there was a channel 2 feet deep and 20 feet wide from Ivanhoe Furnace to within 600 feet of the head of Wilkinson Shoals and Ledges, a distance of 3.9 miles.
In 1889 this channel, with the same width and depth, was extended to the lower end of the approach to the Gulf, a distance of 5 miles from the initial point, with four-tenths of a mile further up the river, partially improved. There were no operations on the river in the year ending June 30, 1891, and therefore no expenditures in that fiscal year. The balance of $2,341.79 remains from the last appropriation, which was in August, 1886.
In compliance with a recommendation of the local engineer, it was decided by the Secretary of War not to expend the existing balance at present.
Up to June 30, 1891, the amount expended was $109,733.21.
July 1, 1890, balance unexpended.
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project...... Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and harbor acts of 1866 and 1867.
(See Appendix I I 5.)
$2,341.79 2, 341.79
EXAMINATION FOR IMPROVEMENT, TO COMPLY WITH REQUIREMENTS OF RIVER AND HARBOR ACT APPROVED SEPTEMBER 19, 1890. The required preliminary examination of Elk River, West Virginia, with a view of improving the same by locks and dams, was made by the local engineer in charge, Colonel Craighill, and report thereon submitted. It is the opinion of Colonel Craighill, based upon the facts and reasons given, that this improvement is not worthy of being under taken by the United States. This opinion being concurred in by me, no further survey was ordered. The report was transmitted to Congress and printed as House Ex. Doc. No. 103, Fifty-first Congress, second session. (See also Appendix I I 6.)
IMPROVEMENT OF CERTAIN RIVERS IN KENTUCKY AND WEST VIR
Officer in charge, Maj. D. W. Lockwood, Corps of Engineers, with Lieut. W. L. Sibert, Corps of Engineers, under his immediate orders; Division Engineer, Col. O. M. Poe, Corps of Engineers.
1. Tradewater River, Kentucky.-This river was practically closed before the work of improvement commenced, by a rock bar near its mouth, and higher up by logs, snags, drift piles, leaning trees, and
The present project, adopted in 1881, provides for clearing the river and its banks of obstructions, and opening up a channel 40 feet wide and 2 feet deep during 6 months of the year, the improvement to extend 41 miles upstream from its mouth in the Ohio.
Up to June 30, 1890, $13,643.81 had been expended, resulting in securing a channel through the rock bar near the mouth of the river, and in removing the obstructions in the channel and on the banks of the river for a distance of 41 miles, the distance covered by the present project.
During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, $1,837.65 was expended resulting in the removal of the ruins of an old dam at Nunn Ripple, and in clearing the channel and banks of obstructions that had formed since work closed the previous year.
July 1, 1890, balance unexpended
June 30, 1891, amount expended during fiscal year..
July 1, 1891, balance unexpended
(See Appendix J J 1.)
$2,856. 19 1,837.65
2. Operating and keeping in repair locks and dams on Green and Barren rivers, Kentucky.-When the United States acquired possession of these improvements, December 11, 1888, navigation of the system was broken at Lock No. 3, Green River, the river wall of that lock having fallen into the river, the lower end of the land wall of No. 1, Barren, was badly cracked and liable to fall at any time, and both walls of No. 2, Green River, were in a dangerous condition. The channel of the river was much obstructed by snags and slides.
Up to June 30, 1890, $201,138.34 had been expended, resulting in the removal of the old river wall at Lock No. 3; the construction of a cofferdam inclosing the site of the new wall and in the purchase of stone and cutting of same for it.
At Lock No. 1, Barren River, a coffer-dam was built across the lower end of the lock pit, the broken wall taken down, and the stone purchased for its renewal; a part of the dam was also repaired.
A new snag boat was built, a new dredge hull and a number of barges constructed.
During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, $143,113.39 were expended, resulting in the completion of all repairs to lock and dam at Lock No. 1, Barren River, and in the completion of river wall at No. 3, Green River, and the reconstruction of a part of the dam. At Lock No. 1, Green River, the walls were raised to the same level throughout, the banks graded and drained, and guide walls above and below the lock built.
Navigation, which was suspended January 2, 1888, by the falling of the river wall of No. 3, Green River, was reopened November 10, 1890.
A large number of snags, etc., was taken from the river by the snag boat Wm. Preston Dixon.
The estimate of the cost of operating and care, etc., for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, is $93,980.77.
(See Appendix J J 2.)
3. Rough River, Kentucky.-This river is very much obstructed by overhanging trees on the banks and by snags, logs, etc., in the bed of the river. The lower 8 miles of the stream are affected by back water from the Rumsey Dam (No. 2), on Green River, but above this the stream has but little depth at low water.
The project for the improvement adopted in 1890 is to clear the river of obstructions, to wit, overhanging trees on the banks and snags, logs, and stumps in the bed of the river, and to locate and construct a lock and dam near the site of the old ones to carry slack water to Hartford.
The amount of money expended during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, was $708.54, and resulted in the survey for the site of lock, dam, and lands; preparing plans for the lock, dam, etc.; in the construction of a quarter boat for working party, and the deadening of trees and removal of obstructions over 2 miles of the lower river.
Amount appropriated by act approved September 19, 1890.
July 1, 1891, balance unexpended...
July 1, 1891, balance available.....
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project......
(See Appendix J J 3.)
24, 291.46 552.84
80, 556. 05 80, 556. 05
4. Kentucky River, Kentucky.-The condition of the river when the United States assumed charge of its improvements was as follows: The five locks and dams with their approaches, built by the State of Kentucky, were in a dilapidated condition, and the channel was much obstructed by snags and leaning trees.
The project for the improvement, adopted in 1879, called for the necessary repairs to the five locks and dams and the extension of slackwater navigation for a draft of 6 feet, by the construction of additional locks and dams to Beattyville, a distance of 261 miles from the mouth of the river.
Up to the close of the fiscal year ending June 30, 1890, $1,163,077.34 had been expended, resulting in restoring the locks and dams to a navigable condition, clearing the channel and banks of obstructions, and the commencement of two new locks.
Stone had been purchased by contract for Lock No. 6, 30 miles above Frankfort, and a part of the stone for the lock at Beattyville had been gotten out by hired labor. A railroad having been constructed to the junction of the North and Middle forks, and the immediate necessity for a lock at Beattyville thereby done away with, the general project was changed so as to defer the construction of this lock for the present and rearrange the old dam so as to give slack water to Lumber Point, junction of North and Middle forks.
During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, $49,378.33 has been expended, resulting in the construction of a cofferdam at No. 6; the construction of the abutment for the dam; excavating inside the coffer for lock; obtaining necessary plant for construction, and in partial completion of the modified project at Beattyville.