« PreviousContinue »
The total amount expended to June 30, 1885, was $2,445.43. July 1, 1884, amount available....
$85 07 Amount appropriated by act approved July 5, 18-4.
2, 000 00
2,085 07 Joly 1, 1825, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding liabilities July 1, 1884.
30 50 July 1, 1885, amount available .....
2,054 57 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project.... 1, 000 00 Arnoudtthat can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30, 1887 1, 000 00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of section 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N 3.)
4. Edisto Ricer, South Carolina.-Two appropriations have been made by Congress for improving Edisto River, South Carolina, aggregating $13,000. The last appropriation, amounting to $5,000, was made by act approved July 5, 1884.
The Edisto is one of the principal rivers in South Carolina. It is formed by the junction of the North and South forks, which unite in the southern part of Orangeburg County. The South Fork, commonly known as the South Edisto, is the main river.
The obstructions to navigation consist of numerous bends, logs, snags, overbanging trees, and piles; also of shoals, generally of sand, but in some places of hard clay.
The plan of improvement contemplates the establishment of a safe parigation channel at all seasons of the year for light-draught steamboats from the sea to the junction of the North and South forks, a distance of 183 miles, and from that point to Guinguard's Landing, 77 miles bigher up, for rafts and flat-boats. The plan embraces enlarging and clearing all the new channels now in progress of formation, cutting off bends, shutting off lateral arms of the river, removing shoals, snags, logs, piles, and other obstructions, and building a deflection jetty. The cost of the project is estimated at $33,385.
Prior to July 1, 1884, a considerable number of snags, trees, and piles which obstructed the channel were removed from the mouth of the Edisto to a point 114 miles higher up. A narrow cut-off through the Deck of a long bend was widened and deepened and made the regular channel of the river.
During the last fiscal year operations were carried on in a reach of the river of 71 miles' length up to a point 130 miles from its mouth. The work done comprised the removal of 10,740 snags and overhanging trees, the closure of many outlets feeding adjoining swamps, and of incipient cut-off's.
The improvement thus far effected has directly benefited raft navigation. The down-river trips of rafts can now be performed in less time and with greater convenience.
The total expenditures to June 30, 1885, were $12,629.36. No operations can be carried on during the present fiscal year for want of funds. July 1, 1884, amount available......
$1,860 20 Amount appropriated by act approved July 5, 1884
6, 860 20
July 1, 1885, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding
liabilities July 1, 1884 Jaly 1, 1885, amount available ....
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project. $20,385 00 Amount that can be profitably expended in fiscal yearending June 30, 1807 10,000 00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of section 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N 4.)
5. Salkiehatchie River, South Carolina.—The work of improving Sal. kiehatchie River has thus far been done by means of two appropriations, aggregating $8,000, made by acts of Congress of August 2, 1882, and August 5, 1884, respectively.
The Salkiehatchie, known as the Big Salkiehatchie, to distinguish it from its principal tributary, the Little Salkiehatchie, rises in Aiken County, South Carolina, and flows into the Atlantic Ocean. The two rivers unite about 80 miles from the sea-coast. The lower part of the river is kuown as the Combahee. Above a point named Hickory Hill, abont 44 miles from the sea-coast, the river is obstructed in many places by piles, logs, and sand-shoals.
The project of improvement contemplates the establishment of a continuous channel, suitable for flat-boats and rafts, from a point 5 miles above Toby's Bluff down to Hickory Hill, a distance of about 77 miles by river.
The work comprises the removal of logs, shoals, and piles, and cutting a navigable channel through two places known as Murdoc Sand Drags and Weekly Sand Drags, where the river at present is divided into numerous small streamlets untit for any kind of navigation. The cost of the project is estimated at $18,000.
Prior to July 1, 1884, the United States snag-boat Toccoa cleared the 12 mile reach of the river, from the Charleston and Savannah Rail. road Bridge down to Hickory Hill, from piles and other obstructions. A large number of snags, logs, and trees were removed from the reaches from the bridge to the “Roots” a distance of 32 miles.
During the past fiscal year operations were carried on between the railroad bridge and Braxton's Ford, a total lengtb of so miles; 9,490 spags, logs, and trees were taken from the channel; over one hundred outlets were closed, many projecting points cut off, and the channel straightened.
The improvement of about 33 miles' length of river, comprising the lower section of the Salkiehatchie, is practically completed, and raft navigation has been greatly benefited by the work. It is desirable that
. the necessary funds be provided by Congress to finish the upper section of the river in conformity to the project. The sum of $10,000 is requireal for the purpose.
The total expenditures to June 30, 1885, were $7,858.90.
$1,410 35 3,000 00
4, 410 35
July 1, 1885, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding
liabilities July 1, 1884.
July 1, 1885, amount available.....
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project.
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N 5.)
6. Savannah Harbor and River, Georgia.-Operations during the past fiscal year were carried ou in conformity to the enlarged project of January 16, 1882.
The existing plan of improvement contemplates the establishment of a channel from Tybee Roads to the city of Savannah, navigable for vessels of 22 feet draught, and the widening of the river opposite the city to 600 feet, of uniform depth with the balance of the channel. This is to be accomplished by improving the north channel in preference to the south channel, from the head of Elba Island to the head of Long Island, closing with dams all the lateral channels connecting the north and south channels from Elba Island to Tybee Roads; constructing a low dam across the south channel above Saint Augustine Creek, in order to increase the volume of ebb-flow down the north channel ; raising the dam at the Cross Tides, 4 miles above the city of Savannah, to a higher level, possibly to the level of high water; narrowing the river between Savannah and Tybee Roads by wing dams where the widths are excessive and the navigation poor; constructing a low jetty or training wall froin some point on either Jones or Turtle Island, in a southeasterly direction to the Red Light Beacon; and protecting Saint Michael's Channel below that beacon by a similar wall or by some other device. Works of shore protection will be built, and dredging done whenever deemed necessary. The estimated cost of the improvement, according to the plan submitted January 16, 1882, is $730,000. The followiug is a summary of the work done previous to July 1, 1884: The Cross Tides Dam had been built up to a height of 3 feet above mean low water, but it had settled below that level in consequence of underscour; a portion of the old King's Island Jetty had been removed; three wing.dams were constructed opposite the lower part of the city, and a fourth lower down, near the lower end of Fig Island, for reducing the width of the water way; a training wall was built extending 6,000 feet down-stream froin the lower end of Fig Island, with its crest about 3 feet above low water, and eleven short spur-jetties added to the wall on its channel side; a submerged dam was partly built across the south channel near the head of Elba Island; two side channels northwest and southeast of Barnwell Island above Elba Island, and three side channels below that island were closed by dams; a wing-dam was constructed to improve the channel between Barnwell Ísland No.3 and the head of Elba Island; one pair of wing-dams were built in the upper portion of the forth channel at and opposite the foot of Spirit Island, and another pair some distance lower down, while two wing.dams opposite to each other were commenced near the lower end of Elba Island. Nearly half a mile lower down a single wing dam was completed for two-thirds of its pro. posed length. Dredging was done at numerous points of the river from the Cross Tides down to Tybee Roads, and aggregated 1,569,119 cubic yards of material.
During the past fiscal year the Cross Tides Dam was protected from scour by an apron of log mattresses and stone where it had settled and was raised to a higher level with fascines and stone. Fig Island Jetty, which had settled for a considerable part of its length, was raised to a beight of about 5 feet above low water for about two-thirds of the length deficient in height; the pair of wing-dams near the lower end of Elba Island, previously commenced, was finished a pair of wing-dams was built opposite to each other, to improve the channel at the lower end of the "Upper Flats,” and another pair of such dams was completed in the lower section of the river, designed to improve Long Island Crossing, one of these dams starting from the upper end of Long Island and the other from the opposite shore of Jones's Island. A dam was commenced, intended to improve the ship-channel north west of Fort Pulaski bear the Oyster Bed Beacon; when completed it will extend from near the quarantine station at the westerly end of the Oyster Bed northwest to Turtle Island.
The material removed by dredging aggregated 98,114 cubic yards, of which 48,896 cubic yards were taken from the channels at the Oyster Bed and at the Upper Flats, and the balance from the channel at “The Wrecks” and in front of the lower part of the city.
The engineer officer in charge reports the condition of Savannah Harbor and River in regard to navigation to be generally very satisfactory, and to be better than at any former period. He recommends that a liberal appropriation be made by Congress for continuing, if not completing, this important work of improvement.
During the present fiscal year operations will be carried on with the balance of funds on hand on July 1, 1885. It is intended to extend and raise the new dam near the Oyster Bed, to raise where necessary the crests of Fig Island Jetty, of Big Gap Dam, and of the dam at Phil. brick's Cut, and to permanently secure the work at Cross Tides. Dredg. ing will probably be resumed next fall.
The total estimated cost of the work is $1,212,000. The appropriations made for the improvement since 1874 now aggregate $882,000. The total expenditures from the beginning of operations to June 30, 1885, were $831,614.40. July 1, 1884, amount available
$1,074 50 Amouut appropriated by act approved July 5, 1884.
July 1, 1885, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of
201, 074 50 outstanding liabilities July 1, 1884. July 1, 1885, outstanding liabilities.
$118, 374 31
150, 688 90 July 1, 1885, amount available
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project.
330,00 00 Amount that can be profitably expended in tiscal year ending June 30, 1887 330, 000 Submitted in compliance with requirements of section 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N 6.)
7. Suvannah River, Georgia. - Three appropriations, aggregating $55,000, have been made by Congress for improving Savannah River between the cities of Augusta and Savannah since the present plan of improvement was adopted. On this section of the river navigation was seriously obstructed at several places during the dry season by exten: sive shoals or sand-bars, with only 2 or 3 feet of water over them, and at many other places by snags, floating and overhanging trees, and piles.
The plan of improvement contemplates the creation of a low river channel of 5 feet depth over all shoals of less depth, and clearing the river of other obstructions to navigation. For these purposes wing: dams were to be built for narrowing the river where the widths are ex. cessive; deposit of silt to be promoted along the banks by light hurdle works; caving banks revetted where necessary; projecting points to be cut away; snags and other obstructions to be removed, and dredg. ing to be done where necessary to assist the formation of a low-river channel.
The cost of the project is estimated at $91,000.
Prior to July 1, 1884, operations consisted chiefly in the construction of a suitable snag-boat' and in the improvement of Gardner's Bar and Course's Bar, just below the city of Augusta, by means of wing.dams
constructed from the bank opposite to the city, and in strengthening the caving banks on the city side. The work on Course's Bar was not completed. The snag.boat was employed in removing a considerable number of snags, piles, floating and overhanging trees, some wrecked flats, and other obstructions.
During the past fiscal year two wing dams previously commenced at Course's Bar were completed and two new ones built. The channel crossing at Sand-Bar-Ferry Bar, 4 miles below Augusta, was improved by five wing-dams. At Bluehouse Bar, 6 miles below the city, two wing.dams were built, to reduce the excessive width of the river. The snag-boat was employed on the upper reaches of the river down to a point 62 miles below Augusta. Over 750 sn, gs, stumps, and trees, a few piles, and the wreck of a flat-boat were removed.
The engineer officer in charge reports the river to be in good condition for low-water navigation from Augusta to King Creek Cut-off, a distance of 118 miles, with the exception of some places still awaiting improvement under the existing project. Obstructions also remain to be removed from the lower reaches below King Creek.
No appropriation was made for continuing the work during the preseut fiscal year.
The total expenditures from the beginning of operations to June 30, 1885, including surveys, funds for which were provided in other appropriations, were $56,985.83 Jnly 1, 1824, amount available
$1,044 12 Amount appropriated by act approved July 5, 1884
15, 000 00
16, 041 12
July 1, 1885, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding liabilities July 1, 1884
$11, 824 57 July 1, 18-5, outstanding liabilities
3, 705 38
15, 529 95
July 1, 1855, amount available.....
514 17 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project
36, 000 00 Amount that can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30,1887 36, 000 00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of section 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N 7.) 8. Sarannah River abore Augusta, Georgia.-No operations were carried on during the past fiscal year, as no appropriation for continuing the improvement had been made, and nothing has been done since July, 1883.
Three appropriations, aggregating $39,000, bave been made by Congress for improving this portion of Savannah River, which amount has been expended, with the exception of a small balance still on hand, for work done in conforunity to the first of two projects submitted by the engineer officer in charge under date of February 8, 1879, which contemplates the improvement of the river for pole-boats only from Au. gusta up to Trotter's Shoals, a distance of 64 miles. The cost of the project was estimated at $15,000. The obstruction to pole-boat navigation consisted chiefly in rock ledges running across the channel, bowl. ders of various sizes, and shoals of gravel. On many shoals there is bat 1 to 2 feet of water during low-river stages.
The project is designed to create a clear channel of 30 feet width and 3 feet depth at low water.
At numerous points the channel-way was improved, especially in the lower reaches. From the canal lock, 7 miles above the city of Augusta,