Page images


The executive power of the State is vested by the Constitution in the Governor. He is authorized and empowered to see that all laws are faithfully executed. Among other powers, he may convene the Legislature, or Senate only, in extraordinary sessions, may grant reprieres, commutations and pardons after convictions for all offenses except treason and cases of impeachment, upon such conditions and restrictions as he may think proper, and may appoint, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, all officers connected with the government of the State not elective by the people, and fill vacancies occurring in office during the recess of the Senate.

He has the power to veto all bills passed by the Senate and Assembly. During the session of the Legislature, he must return any such bill to the house in which it originated with his objections, within ten days-Sundays excepted -after it is presented to him; if not returned within that time, it shall be a law in like manner as if he had signed it, unless the Legislature by its adjournment prevent its return, in which case it does not become a law without his signature. After the final adjournment of the Legislature, no bill becomes a law unless approved by the Governor within thirty days.

The Governor has also power to disapprove items in any bill appropriating money in the manner prescribed by the Constitution.

He has also power to appoint, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, a Superintendent of State Prisons and a Superintendent of Public Works. He has also power to remove many officers in the method prescribed by law.

The Governor holds his office for three years and receives a salary of ten thousand dollars.

[ocr errors]


COLONIAL. Adrian Joris....

1623 Cornelius Jacobzen May..

1624 William Verhulst...

1625 Peter Minuit......


4, 1626 Wouter Van Twiller.


1633 William Kieft..

March 28, 1638 Petrus Stuyvesant..


11, 1647 Richard Nicolls.

September 8, 1664 Francis Lovelace.

August 17, 1668 Cornelis Evertse, Jr., and a council of war.... Aug. (N. 8.) 12, 1673 Anthony Colve...

September 19, 1673 Edmund Andros....

Nov. (N. 8.) 10, 1674 Anthony Brockholles, Commander-in-Chief. November 16, 1677 Sir Edmund Andros, Knt.......

August 7, 1678 Anthony Brockholles, Commander-in-Chief. Jan. (N. 8.) 13, 1681 Thomas Dungan...

August 27, 1683 Sir Ed. Andros..


11, 1688 Francis Nicholson, Lieutenant-Governor.... October 9, 1688 Jacob Leisler.....


3, 1689 Henry Sloughter...


19, 1691 Richard Ingoldesby, Commander-in-Chief... July 26, 1691 Benjamin Fletcher..


30, 1692 Earl of Bellomont


13, 1698 John Nanfan, Lieutenant-Governor.


17, 1699 Earl of Bellomont..


24, 1700 Col. William Smith.

March 5, 1701 Col. Abraham De Peyster. Col. Peter Schuyler*.

May 19, 1701 John Nanfan, Lieutenant-Governor.


19, 1701 Lord Cornbury...


3, 1702 Lord Lovelace..

December 18, 1708 Peter Schuyler, President.


6, 1709 Richard Ingoldesby, Lieutenant-Governor.. May

9, 1709


* The Earl of Bellomont died March 5, 1701. During the absence of Lieutenant-Governor Nanfan, and until May 19, 1701, the Government was administered by the Council, at which the oldest Councillor present presided during this period.

Peter Schuyler, President..

May 25, 1709 Richard Ingoldesby, Lieutenant-Governor.. June 1, 1709 Gerardus Beeckman, President..

April 10, 1710 Robert Hunter..


14, 1710 Peter Schuyler, President..


21, 1719 William Burnet..

September 17, 1720 John Montgomerie.

April 15, 1728 Rip Van Dam, President....


1, 1731 William Cosby.....

August 1, 1732 George Clarke, President.


10, 1736 George Clarke, Lieutenant-Governor.. October 30, 1736 George Clinton....

September 2, 1743 Sir Danvers Osborne, Bart..

October 10, 1753 James De Lancey, Lieutenant-Governor.... October 12, 1755 Sir Charles Hardy, Knt...

September 3, 1755 James De Lancey, Lieutenant-Governor.... June

3, 1757 Cadwallader Colden, President..


4, 1760 Cadwallader Colden, Lieutenant-Governor.. August

8, 1761 Robert Monckton....

October 26, 1761 Cadwallader Colden, Lieutenant-Governor.. November 18, 1761 Robert Monckton....

June 14, 1762 Cadwallader Colden, Lieutenant-Governor.. June 28, 1763 Sir Henry Moore, Bart....

November 13, 1765 Cadwallader Colden, Lieutenant-Governor.. September 12, 1769 Earl of Dunmore.


19, 1770 William Tryon.


9, 1771 Cadwallader Colden, Lieutenant-Governor., April 7, 1774 William Tryon.

June 28, 1775 James Robertson*.


23, 1780 Andrew Elliott, Lieutenant-Governor*.. April 17, 1783


Peter van Brugh Livingston..

May 23, 1775 Nathaniel Woodhull, President pro tem..... August

28, 1775 Abraham Yates, Jr., President pro tem...... November 2, 1775 Nathaniel Woodhull....

December 6, 1775 John Haring, President pro tem....

December 16, 1775 Abraham Yates, Jr., President pro tem. August

10, 1776 Abraham Yates, Jr..


28, 1776 Peter R. Livingston..

September 26, 1776

* Military Governors during the Revolutionary War, not recognized by the State of New York.

Abraham Ten Broeck ...

March Leonard Gansevoort, President pro tem....... April Pierre Van Cortlandt, President of the Council of Safety......


6, 1777 18, 1777

14, 1777


30, 1777 1, 1795

1801 1804 1807

1817 1, 1817 1, 1823


11, 1828


STATE. George Clinton*

John Jay....

George Clinton
Morgan Lewis
Daniel D. Tompkins...
John Taylor, Lieutenant-Governor, acting

De Witt Clinton

Joseph C. Yatest.

De Witt Clinton
Nathaniel Pitcher, Lieutenant-Governor, act-
ing Governor....

Martin Van Buren..
Enos T. Throop, Lieutenant-Governor, acting

Enos T. Throop...
William L. Marcy.
William H. Seward.
William C. Bouck.
Silas Wright
John Young
Hamilton Fish.
Washington Hunt.
Horatio Seymour
Myron H. Clark
John A. King ..
Edwin D. Morgan
Horatio Seymour
Reuben E. Fenton.
John T. Hoffman..
John A. Dix....
Samuel J. Tilden....
Lucius Robinson..

12, 1829

1821 1833 1839 1843 1845 1847 1849 1851 1853 1855 1857 1859 1863 1865 1869 1873 1875 1877



• The Constitution of 1777 did not specify the time when the Governor should enter on the duties of his office. Gov. Clinton was declared elected July 9th and qualified on the above day. On the 13th of February, 1787, an act was passed for regulating elections, which provided that the Governor'and Lieutenant-Governor should enter on the duties of their respective offices on the first of July after their election.

The Constitution of 1821 provided that the Governor and LieutenantGovernor shall, on and after the year 1823, enter on the duties of their respect. Ive offices on the 1st of January.

« PreviousContinue »