Page images


twenty-second wards as is east of Eighth avenue, and so much of the nineteenth and twenty-first wards of said city as lies west of Tbird avenue, and Ward's and

Randall's Islands, shall compose the eleventh district. XII.-The county of Westchester shall compose the twelfth

district. XIII.-The counties of Putnam, Dutchess and Columbia shall

compose the thirteenth district. XIV.-The counties of Rockland, Orange and Sullivan shall

compose the fourteenth district. XV.-The counties of Ulster, Greene and Schoharie shall

compose the fifteenth district. XVI.-The county of Albany shall compose the sixteenth

district. XVII.-The counties of Rensselaer and Washington shall

compose the seventeenth district. XVIII.--The counties of Warren, Essex and Clinton shall

compose the eighteenth district. XIX.-The counties of St. Lawrence and Franklin shall com

pose the nineteenth district. XX.-The counties of Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Sara

toga and Schenectady shall compose the twentieth

district. XXI.-The counties of Delaware, Otsego and Chenango shall

compose the twenty-first district. XXII.-The counties of Jefferson, Lewis and Herkimer shall

compose the twenty-second district. XXIII.-The county of Oneida shall compose the twenty-third

district. XXIV.-The counties of Madison and Oswego shall composo

the twenty-fourth district. XXV.-The counties of Onondaga and Cortland shall compose

the twenty-fifth district. XXVI.-The counties of Cayuga, Wayne and Seneca shall

compose the twenty-sixth district. XXVII.-The counties of Ontario, Livingston and Yates shall

conipose the twenty-seventh district. XXVIII.-The counties of Tioga, Tompkins, Broome and Schuy.

ler shall compose the twenty-eighth district. XXIX.-The counties of Chemung, Steuben and Allegany shall

compose the twenty-ninth district. XXX.-The counties of Monroe and Orleans shall compose

the thirtieth district. XXXI.-The counties of Niagara, Genesee and Wyoming shall

compose the thirty-first district. XXXII.-The county of Erie shall compose the thirty-second

district. XXXIII.-The counties of Chautauqua and Cattaraugus shall

compose the thirty-third district.




1874. MORRISON R. WAITE, Ohio, Chief Justice (Fourth Circuit.)
1858. NATHAN CLIFFORD, Portland, Me., A88oc. Justice (First Circuit).
1872. WARD HUNT, Utica, N. Y.,

do (Second do 1870. WM. STRONG, Philadelphia, Penn., do (Third

do 1870. JOSEPH P. BRADLEY, Newark, N. J., do (Fifth 1862. Noah H. SWAYNE, Columbus, Ohio, do (Sixth do 1877. John M. HARLAN, Louisville, Ky., do (Seventh do 1862. SAMUEL F, MILLER, Keokuk, Iowa, do (Eighth do 1863. STEPHEN J. FIELD, San Francisco, Cal., do (Ninth do

The court holds one general term, annually, at Washington, D. C., commencing on the first Monday in December.

D. WESLEY MIDDLETON, of Washington, Clerk.
WILLIAM T. OTTO, of Indiana, Reporter.
John G. NICOLAY, of Illinois, Marshal.;

CIRCUITS AND CIRCUIT JUDGES OF THE UNITED STATES. First Circuit-(Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Rhode Island)GEORGE F. SAEPLEY, of Portland, Maine. Second Circuit-(New York, Vermont and Connecticut)

Third Circuit-(Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware)-WILLIAM MCKENNAN, of Pennsylvania.

Fourth Circuit-(Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina) Hugu L. BOND, of Maryland.

Fifth Circuit-(Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas) -WILLIAM B. WOODS, of Alabama.

Sixth Circuit- (Ohio, Michigan, Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia) JOHN BAXTER.

Seventh Circuit-(Indiana, Illinois and Wisconsin)-Thomas DRUMMOND, of Chicago, Illinois.

Eighth Circuit-(Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas and Nebraska) John F. DILLON, of Dubuque, Iowa.

Ninth Circuit-(California, Oregon and Nevada)-LORENZO SAWYER, of San Francisco, Cal.

The Circuit Courts in each Circuit shall be held by the Justice of the Supreme Court allotted to the Circuit, or by the Circuit Judge of the Circuit, or by the District Judge of the District sitting alone, or by the Justice of the Supreme Court and Circuit Judge sitting together, in which case the Justice of the Supreme Court shall preside, or in the absence of either of them by the other (who shall preside) and the District Judge.


For the Second Circuit (including New York, Vermont and Connecticut). Judges-WARD HUNT, ALEXANDER S. JOHNSOX,* and District Judge.

TERMS-New York: Northern District, Albany, 2d Tuesday in October; Canandaigua, 3d Tuesday in June; also adjourned term for civil business only, at Albany, 3d Tuesday in January, and at Utica, 3d Tuesday in March. Charles Mason, Clerk, N. D., office Utica.

New York : Southern District, New York, last Monday in February, 1st Monday in April, and 3d Monday in October. John I. Davenport, Clerk, S. D., ofnce New York.

New York: Eastern District, Brooklyn, Ist Wednesday in each month. B. Lincoln Benedict, Clerk, E. D., office Brooklyn.

*Died January 26, 1878.


New York: Northern District, WILLIAM J. WALLACE, Judge, Buffalo; Richard Crowley, Attorney, Lockport; Winfield Robbins, Clerk, Buffalo; Clinton D. McDougall, Marshall, Rochester.

TERMS- Albany, 3d Tuesday in January, Utica, 3d Tuesday in March ; Rochester, 2d Tuesday in May; Buffalo, 3d Tuesday in August; Auburn, 3d Tuesday in November. A special term by appointment at Oswego, Plattsburgh or Watertown, and a special session in Admiralty at the city of Buffalo, on Tuesday of each week.

New York: Southern District, SAMUEL BLATCHFORD. Judge, New York; Stewart L. Woodford, Attorney, New York; Louis F. Payn, Marshal, New York; George F. Betts, Clerk, New York City.

TERM8-New York, Ist Tuesday in each month. New York: Eastern District, CHARLES L. BENEDICT, Judge, Brooklyn; Asa W. Tenney, Attorney, Brooklyn; Samuel R. Harlow, Marshal, Brooklyn;

B. L. Benedict, Clerk, Brooklyn. TERMS-Brooklyn, Ist Tuesday in each month.


NORTHERN DISTRIOT OF NEW YORK, Counties of Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK, Counties of Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, New York, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK. Counties of Kings, Queens, Suffolk and Richmond, and concurrent jurisdiction with the Southern District over the waters of the Counties of New York, Kings, Queens and Suffolk.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »